04.06.05 Bring On The Night DVD charts at #9...

Update: the 'Bring On The Night' DVD is currently #9 on the latest Music DVD chart!

As Sting embarks on the cross-country 'Broken Music' Tour of primarily college campuses this spring with a four-piece band, his jazz-infused genre-bending mid-'80s ensemble takes center stage with the CD reissue of the double-live, Grammy-winning 'Bring On The Night' (A&M/UMe) and the all region DVD debut of the Grammy-winning film of the same name, both released March 29, 2005.

Augmenting the 'Bring On The Night' DVD, which premieres its audio in 5.1 Surround Sound and its video from a high-definition transfer, are the music videos for 'Bring On The Night', 'If You Love Somebody Set Them Free' and 'Russians' as well as the original trailer and radio spots, a photo gallery and director Michael Apted's liner notes.

For Sting's first solo album, he stretched the boundaries of pop by enlisting jazz musicians: saxman Branford Marsalis (Art Blakely, Dizzy Gillespie, Miles Davis, brother Wynton Marsalis, Clark Terry), keyboardist Kenny Kirkland (Wynton Marsalis, Gillespie, Elvin Jones), bassist Darryl Jones (Miles Davis) and drummer Omar Hakim (Marcus Miller, Weather Report, David Bowie). Backing singer Janice Pendarvis had worked with Philip Glass, Laurie Anderson, Roberta Flack and Peter Tosh, and Dolette McDonald with The Police, Talking Heads, and Anderson.

In 1986, the film 'Bring On The Night', shot by critically acclaimed director Michael Apted (Coal Miner's Daughter, Gorillas In The Mist,) documented the development of the band from rehearsals in an historic castle to their first live show at the Thé?tre Mogador in Paris. Wrote Sheila Benson for the Los Angeles Times: "What Apted is attempting, quite shamelessly, is to make us accomplices in this creation, to get to know these musicians individually, to have us begin to worry about the success of their first concert in Paris. He succeeds."

Accompanying the film was a double-live soundtrack recorded in Paris, Rome and Arnhem (Holland). The homevideo won a Grammy for Best Music Video, Long Form, and the album a Grammy for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance.

Nearly 20 years later, Bring On The Night's film and album remain as challenging, versatile and fascinating as Sting himself.

CD Tracklisting:
Disc One

Bring On The Night/When The World Is Running Down, You Make The Best Of What's Still Around 11.41
Consider Me Gone 4.53
Low Life 4.04
We Work The Black Seam 6.55
Driven To Tears 6.59
The Dream Of The Blue Turtles/Demolition Man 6.08

Disc Two
One World (Not Three)/Love Is The Seventh Wave 11.11
Moon Over Bourbon Street 4.19
I Burn For You 5.38
Another Day 4.42
Children's Crusade 5.23
Down So Long 4.55
Tea In The Sahara 6.25

DVD Tracklisting:
1. Bring On The Night/When The World Is Running Down Make The Best Of What's Still Around
2. News Conference
3. If You Love Somebody Set Them Free
4. Low Life
5. Fortress Around Your Heart
6. Love Is The Seventh Wave
7. The Flintstones
8. Another Day
9. Shadows In The Rain
10. Consider Me Gone
11. Driven To Tears
12. The Big Risk
13. Opening Night
14. Shadows In The Rain
15. Fortress Around Your Heart
16. We Work The Black Seam
17. I Burn For You
18. Children's Crusade
19. Need Your Love So Bad
20. Roxanne
21. Russians
22. I Been Down So Long
23. If You Love Somebody Set Them Free
24. Demolition Man
25. Message In A Bottle

1. Bring On The Night (Music Video)
2. If You Love Somebody Set Them Free (Music Video)
3. Russians (Music Video)
4. Original Trailer
5. Original Radio Spots
6. Photo Gallery